KUMBAM: For the Hindus, the Kumbam symbolically represents the highly principled Yoga Path, which is a way of life. The Yoga Path consists of the following eight parts:

1. Iyamam
2. Niyamam
3. Aasanam
4. Praanaayaamam
5. Prathyaakaaram
6. Dhaarana
7. Dhyaana
8. Samaadhi

Kumbam is considered Sivasakthi. The soul, which remains confined to the physical body, that is the combination of the Five Elements, viz. Space, Air, Fire, Water, and Earth, should become one with Siva. That is the purpose of birth. For this the individual soul should purify the physical and subtle bodies (Pancha kosas) and get rid of the three blemishes (mummalas) viz. Aanavam, Kanmam and Maaya, which have afflicted it.

The thread around the kumbam denotes the 72000 nadis in human body. Mango leaves stand for the hair. The outer cover of coconut, fibrous cover and the inner cover represent Maaya, Kanmam and Aanava malas respectively. By controlling the 72000 nadis in the body through yogic procedures we can awaken the dormant divine energy within us and take it through the six subtle chakras to the Sahasraaram, the seventh chakra, which is also a Devi-Peetam. The garland in the kumbam refers to the Vedas and the Puranas.ath and the need to learn it from a competent Guru, and practice it under his guidance; this would enable the individual soul to attain Moksha also known as Sivagathi.